How to mirror screen from MacBook on any Airplay enabled modern TV

Aidray
2 min readMar 15, 2021

--

I recently bought Samsung’s 50' TV which had an AirPlay functionality. After my basic tv setup I had the television up and running. However, to my biggest disappointment, I could not enable Mirror Screen functionality on a tv whereas my I-pad and I-phone were able to.

As usual, I sought help from Google search. Most of my search were key-worded “Could not connect to Samsung Series 7” however none of the suggested suggestion addressed my issue. Most of the suggested answer were to go into the Display settings and to enable the checkmark on the “Show mirroring options in the menu bar when available” checkbox. Mine had it enabled so my TV was populated on the list. Tried couple of days could not find what was going on, so tried with the HDMI cable and was able to cast my screen. However was very disappointed to not be able to utilize the built in airplay functionality.

Today, after a week, I was messing with it to see if there was some sort of Firewall preventing the mirror functionality. As a surprise, came to find out that Firewall(inside Security and Privacy) was preventing it from casting as my mac had Block all incoming connection check mark enabled. As I unchecked the checkmark and enabled the Automatically allow built-in software to receive incoming connections enabled along with the bottom two enabled — BOOM I could mirror my MacBook on the TV. (Attaching the picture just in case for someone to see what the options looked like inside the Firewall tab)

Since this issue might be preventing some people from utilizing the in-built AirPlay functionality on some modern TV. I thought of writing this article. So, anyone in the similar situation will not have to go through the similar issue again.

Cheers!!

--

--

Aidray
0 Followers

Software Engineer, Traveller, Covid survivor